What is a Systems Security Certified Practitioner?

The Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP) is a security administration and operations certificate for professionals with technical skills and knowledge to implement, monitor, and administer IT infrastructure. An SSCP is a suitable certification for cybersecurity professionals who want to validate their experience but aren’t yet qualified for the CISSP. 

Why is a Systems Security Certified Practitioner Certification Important?

The SSCP certification validates an expert’s ability to identify, evaluate, and prioritize potential threats and mitigate threats through risk management, assessment, and monitoring best practices. The SSCP is equipped with the know-how to handle security threats, incidents, and forensic investigations including Business Continuity Planning and Disaster Recovery Planning.  

The SSCP certification is a DoD Approved 8570 Baseline Certification and meets DoD 8140/8570 training requirements.

Who Needs a SSCP Certification?

The SSCP is qualified to work in IT administration and management roles and network security positions with hands-on operational security. It validates the person’s technical skills and knowledge to implement, monitor and administer IT infrastructure using security best practices, policies and procedures. 

The certificate is often associated with the following roles:

  • Network Security Engineer
  • Security Administrator
  • Security Analyst
  • Systems Engineer
  • Systems/Network Administrator
  • Systems/Network Analyst
  • Security Consultant
  • Database Administration

How to Get SSCP Certified

The SSCP requires candidates to have at least one year of cumulative experience in one or more of the seven SSCP domains:

  • Access Controls
  • Security Operations and Administration
  • Risk Identification, Monitoring and Analysis
  • Incident Response and Recovery
  • Cryptography
  • Network and Communications Security
  • Systems and Application Security

The Certifying Association

The SSCP is an information security certification granted by the International Information System Security Certification Consortium, also known as (ISC)². The (ISC)² is an international, nonprofit membership association for information security leaders.

Requirements to Stay Certified

The SSCP credential is valid for three years and must be renewed either by submitting 40 Continuing Professional Education (CPE) credits per year over three years or re-taking the exam. CPE credits are granted through completion of relevant professional education programs.