What is a CHFI?

A Computer Hacking Forensics Investigator (CHFI) is a certified professional with the skills and knowledge to conduct digital investigations for complex security threats.  A certified CHFI has demonstrated a wide range of computer forensic abilities, including search and seizure, chain-of-custody, analysis, preservation, and reporting of digital evidence.

Why is CHFI certification important?

The CHFI program prepares individuals with the know-how to proactively investigate complex security threats and report cybercrimes to prevent future attacks. The program encompasses a well-rounded assessment of modern forensics across the dark web, cloud, email, and all types of operating systems. Organizations with an in-house forensics team can better safeguard against bad actors and malware. Lastly, CHFI is an ANSI 17024 accredited Certification Program mapped to the NICE 2.0 framework.

Who needs CHFI certification?

The CHFI program is relevant for all digital forensics and IT professionals involved in information system security, computer forensics, and incident response. Individuals most commonly acquire the certification in the following roles:

  • Forensic Analyst
  • Cybercrime Investigator 
  • Cyber Defense Forensic Analyst 
  • Incident Responder 
  • Information Technology Auditor
  • Malware Analyst
  • Security Consultant 
  • Chief Security Officer

How to get certified

There are no prerequisites to take the CHFI certification exam. CHFI certification is awarded after successfully passing the exam at an ECC exam center.

The CHFI certifying association

CHFI is offered through the EC-Council. 

Requirements to stay certified

EC-Council certifications remain valid for three years from the date of certification. The certificate must be renewed through the EC-Council Continuing Education (ECE) Program.