What is a CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner?

The CASP+ certification is an advanced-level competency in risk management, enterprise security operations and architecture, research and collaboration, and integration of enterprise security. It’s the only hands-on, performance-based certification for advanced cybersecurity practitioners.

Why is CASP+ certification important?

CASP+ demonstrates a practitioner’s ability to apply critical thinking, problem-solving, and data analysis to propose and implement security and risk solutions at the enterprise level. 

Who needs CASP+ certification?

The CASP+ certification is appropriate for technical cybersecurity professionals that want to demonstrate their advanced knowledge to create and implement cybersecurity policies and frameworks. Some roles that use CASP+ include: 

  • Security Architect
  • Technical Lead Analyst
  • Application Security Engineer
  • Security Engineer

How to Get CASP+ certified

There are no required prerequisites for the CASP+ certification, however it is intended to follow the Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA) Security+ or equivalent experience and technical, hands-on focus at the enterprise level.  CompTIA recommends ten years of experience in IT administration minimum, and at least five years of hands-on technical security experience.

Who is the certifying association

CompTIA created CASP+ certification. CASP+ is also compliant with ISO 17024 standards and approved by the US DoD to meet directive 8140/8570.01-M requirements.

Requirements to stay certified

A CASP+ certification is valid for three years from the exam date. Continuing Education programs allow practitioners to extend their certification in three-year intervals through activities and training related to the certification’s content.