What is a Certified Secure Software Lifecycle Professional?

The CSSLP is an experienced professional that is qualified to manage the software development lifecycle from design to implementation to testing and deployment.

The CSSLP exam covers these eight domain areas:

  • Secure Software Concepts
  • Secure Software Requirements
  • Secure Software Architecture and Design
  • Secure Software Implementation
  • Secure Software Testing
  • Secure Software Lifecycle Management
  • Secure Software Deployment, Operations, Maintenance
  • Secure Software Supply Chain

Why is CSSLP Certification Important?

The CSSLP certification qualifies a professional to incorporate security practices into each phase of the software development lifecycle (SDLC). People with this credential have advanced technical skills and knowledge for authentication, authorization, and auditing throughout the SDLC lifecycle. 

Who Needs a CSSLP Credential?

The CSSLP credential is meant for security professionals and consultants responsible for managing each phase of the SDLC. From software design and implementation to testing and deployment. 

Common professions with CSSLP include: 

  • Software Architect
  • Software Engineer
  • Software Developer
  • Application Security Specialist
  • Software Program Manager
  • Quality Assurance Tester
  • Penetration Tester
  • Software Procurement Analyst
  • Project Manager
  • Security Manager
  • IT Director/Manager

How to Get CSSLP Certified

To qualify for the certification exam, you must have at least four years of cumulative, paid work experience as a software development lifecycle professional. 

Who is the Certifying Association?

The CSSLP certification is offered through (ISC)², a global community of certified cybersecurity professionals. (ISC)² is also known as the International Information System Security Certification Consortium.

Requirements to Stay Certified

To maintain valid certification, professionals must earn and submit 90 CPE credits over the three-year certification cycle.