What is a Certified Information Systems Auditor?

The CISA designation is a reputable certification for IT professionals. The credential establishes competence as an IT auditor with both technical skills and general knowledge. A CISA has proven their ability to assess, audit, monitor, and control their organization’s information technology and business systems. The CISA also enhances business value and trust amongst customers and stakeholders. 

Why is CISA Certification Important?

CISA is ranked as one of the most valuable IT certifications based on the Global Knowledge 2018 IT Skills & Salary Report. For enterprises, the CISA provides a reliable professional who can incorporate privacy into technology platforms, products, and processes and keep the organization compliant and cost-efficient.  

A CISA certification indicates knowledge across the following areas:

  • Information systems auditing process
  • Governance and management of IT
  • Information systems acquisition, development, and implementation
  • Information systems operations and business resilience
  • Protection of information assets

Who Needs a CISA Credential?

The CISA designation is suitable for both entry-level and mid-career professionals who want to prove their expertise in providing a risk-based approach to planning, executing and reporting on audit engagements. 

Common job titles for the CISA include:

  • IS Analyst
  • IT Audit Manager
  • IT Project Manager
  • IT Security Officer
  • Network Operation Security Engineer
  • Cybersecurity Analyst
  • IT Consultant
  • IT Risk and Assurance Manager
  • Privacy Officer

How to Get CISA Certified

To qualify for the CISA, the candidate must, in addition to passing the CISA exam, have five or more years of professional experience in an IS/IT audit, control, assurance, or security role. 

Who is the Certifying Association?

The Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) certification is administered by an organization known as ISACA. CISA Certification is accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) under ISO/IEC 17024:2012.

Requirements to Stay Certified

The CISA policy requires the attainment of CPE hours over an annual and three-year certification period. CISAs must earn and report an annual minimum of twenty (20) CPE hours.