What is a Certification in Risk Management Assurance?

The Certification in Risk Management Assurance (CRMA) is an enhanced credential for internal auditors who want to validate their ability to evaluate an organization’s governance and Enterprise Risk Management (ERM) program and provide assurance around issues and management. 

The CRMA exam covers the following topics: internal audit roles and responsibilities, risk management governance, and risk management assurance. 

Why is CRMA Certification Important?

The CRMA credential verifies a person’s qualifications to provide assurance on core business processes in risk management and governance, educate management and the audit committee on risk and risk management concepts, offer quality assurance and control self-assessment, and manage strategic organizational risks.

Who Needs a CRMA Credential?

The CRMA is designed for professionals working in risk management.  Professionals with a CRMA certification have proven their expertise in risk management assurance. Internal auditors who already have the CIA (Certified Internal Auditor) certificate can pursue the CRMA to demonstrate their additional skill set in risk management.

How to Get CRMA Certified

The CRMA prerequisites and exam went through changes in 2021. To qualify for the exam, candidates must have an active Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) CIA credential and have five years of relevant work experience with two of the five years in internal audits.

Who is the Certifying Association?

The Institute of Internal Auditors offers the CRMA certification.

Requirements to Stay Certified

The updated CRMA is valid for two years from the examination date.